Custom Search

Welcome to Cambodia!

Welcome to Cambodia!

Tourism Upcoming Events in Cambodia

Popular Posts


Thursday, June 12, 2014

Brief on 2014 FIFA World Cup

The 2014 FIFA World Cup will be the 20th FIFA World Cup, an international men's football tournament that is scheduled to take place in Brazil from 12 June to 13 July 2014. It will be the second time that Brazil has hosted the competition, the previous being in1950. Brazil was elected unchallenged as host nation in 2007 after the international football federation, FIFA, decreed that the tournament would be staged in South America for the first time since 1978 in Argentina, and the fifth time overall.
The national teams of 31 countries advanced through qualification competitions that began in June 2011 to participate with the host nation Brazil in the final tournament. A total of 64 matches are to be played in twelve cities across Brazil in either new or redeveloped stadiums, with the tournament beginning with a group stage. For the first time at a World Cup Finals, the matches will use goal-line technology. After testing several systems over two years, FIFA awarded German company Goal Control GmbH the contract to provide GLT technology for the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil
With the host country, all world champion teams since the first World Cup in 1930 (ArgentinaEngland, France, GermanyItalySpain and Uruguay) have qualified for this competition. Spain is the defending champion, having defeated the Netherlands 1–0 in the 2010 World Cup final to win its first World title. The previous four World Cups staged in South America were all won by South American teams. (Source:
Today is the kick off day for 2014 FIFA World Cup in Sao Paulo, Brazil and finalize on July 13. In this process, there are 8 groups including: 
        - Group A : Brazil (BRA), Croatia (CRO), Mexico (MEX), Cameroon (CMR) 
        - Group B : Spain (ESP), Netherlands (NED), Chile (CHI), Australia (AUS)
        - Group C: Colombia (COL), Greece (GRE), Cote D'lvoire (CIV), Japan (JPN)
        - Group D: Uruguay (URU), Costa Rica (CRC), England (ENG), Italy (ITA)
        - Group E: Switzerland (SUI), Ecuador (ECU), France (FRA), Honduras (HON)
        - Group F: Argentina (ARG), Bosnia and Herzegovina (BIH), Iran (IRN), Nigeria (NGA)
        - Group H: Germany (GER), Portugal (POR), Ghana (GHA), USA (USA)
        - Group I: Belgium (BEL), Algeria (ALG), Russia (RUS), Korea Republic (KOR)

It should be noticed that Cambodian people supporting football match are really appreciated waiting to watch the match process as below: 
       - Group Match (June 12 - June 26, 2014)
       - Round of 16 (June 28 - July 1, 2014) 
       - Quarter-Final (July 4 - July 5, 2014) 
       - Semi-Finals (July 8 - July 9, 2014)
       - 3rd & Final (July 12 - July 13, 2014).